Blogging America

Icon

article’s of interest and current events

Unlocking the Benefits of Garlic

Here is a good article in the Times about the benefits of garlic, and since I cook with this stuff all the time I will tell you that it does help me keep down common colds. Previously before I started using so much of this herb in cooking I was prone to several colds a year and now hardly even get one a year. I can’t say if the pill form will do just as good but the fresh kind will.

Garlic is in no means a cure-all herb but I believe it does have an essential role to play,  there are many foods this herb can go in and be delicious and to me it does have some health potential and look at it this way sure can’t hurt, o.k so it does have some ‘breath’ problems but if we can get by these with some mints you will not regret adding this little herb to your diet and at best you can keep those vampires at bay.

In a study published today in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, researchers show that eating garlic appears to boost our natural supply of hydrogen sulfide. Hydrogen sulfide is actually poisonous at high concentrations — it’s the same noxious byproduct of oil refining that smells like rotten eggs. But the body makes its own supply of the stuff, which acts as an antioxidant and transmits cellular signals that relax blood vessels and increase blood flow.

The power to boost hydrogen sulfide production may help explain why a garlic-rich diet appears to protect against various cancers, including breast, prostate and colon cancer, say the study authors. Higher hydrogen sulfide might also protect the heart, according to other experts. Although garlic has not consistently been shown to lower cholesterol levels, researchers at Albert Einstein College of Medicine earlier this year found that injecting hydrogen sulfide into mice almost completely prevented the damage to heart muscle caused by a heart attack.

Unlocking the Benefits of Garlic – Well – Tara Parker-Pope – Health – New York Times Blog

Filed under: Health, , , ,

2 Responses

  1. writingran49 says:

    Good post, Floyd. I’m a great believer in garlic, after a family member got me to eat some raw garlic when I had a terrible cold. Wow! Powerful, at times overpowering, but I got better so fast!

  2. floyd says:

    That is the way it done me also, this stuff for me when eaten regularly keeps the colds at bay I hardly ever have one anymore.

Leave a Reply

